Audi TT Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've just bought an early 10 reg TDI Sline SE and the Central fans don't seem to work on any fan speed ? The right and left do work as intended. What would I be looking at when troubleshooting ? What are common issues surrounding this ? What would the bill range between for repairing ? Thank you !

·
Administrator
2001 Amulet Red 225 coupe.Owned from new as well as a Nurburg VXR & an XR3, all from new.
95,320 Posts
Hi, By central fan do you mean the heating/climate control fan? if so that fan on the MK2 is well known for seizing up.
Have you checked the fuse? 4 & 16 I believe.
Hoggy. :)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi, By central fan do you mean the heating/climate control fan? if so that fan on the MK2 is well known for seizing up.
Have you checked the fuse? 4 & 16 I believe.
Hoggy. :)
Yes that's what I meant 😅 I haven't actually, I'm quite new to owning my own car so apologies for missing basic things to check for.

·
Registered
2,595 Posts
There is only one fan in the system. The airflow from it is distributed by flaps in the ducting opening or closing depending on how the controls are set. So, if you are getting airflow out of the two end vents, the fan motor is working and your problem is with the control unit or the flap actuators.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
There is only one fan in the system. The airflow from it is distributed by flaps in the ducting opening or closing depending on how the controls are set. So, if you are getting airflow out of the two end vents, the fan motor is working and your problem is with the control unit or the flap actuators.
I've read about this but it wasn't explained well enough in the thread I'd found. How would this be resolved ?

·
Registered
487 Posts