Audi TT Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought some Maxspeedingrods forged rods a couple of months ago and finally started the job today. Cylinder head off, dropped the sump, pulled out the pistons.
To prepare for this I studied old forum posts and watched Youtube videos. I've never attempted anything like this before.
Tomorrow I'm going to gap the new Mahle piston rings. I have a Bentley manual but I don't see anywhere in the manual about piston ring gap specs.
I found this old ttforum post though.
But that is for standard stock horsepower, should the gaps change for higher horsepower?

Next on my list... figure out how to measure bearing clearances with my Plastigauge. I have new Glyco bearings.
Also I got a Flex-Hone 3 1/4" 180 grit cylinder honer.

Any advice is appreciated!!

Vehicle Motor vehicle Car Blue Automotive tire
Musical instrument Wood Auto part Statue Font
Hand Liquid Fluid Automotive tire Hat
Crankset Tool Wrench Hand tool Gas

·
Registered
307 Posts
Some pictures here from my APX rebuild thread Engine rebuild and trackday project log

The TT Bently manual is odd as it seems to skip engine assembly chapters.

I used the ring clearances from here Audi Workshop Manuals > A3 Mk1 > Power unit > 4-cylinder 1.8 ltr. 5-valve turbocharged engine (154-165 kW), mechanics > Enginecrankshaft group, pistons > Dismantling and assembling pistons and conrods > Pistons and conrods - exploded view and I think nearly all the 1.8t's are the same?

My understanding is different ring gaps based on increased horsepower is only for aftermarket pistons with different thermal expansion properties but I could be wrong.

·
Registered
9,965 Posts
I assume your engine is still in situ? What are you going to do if the clearenesses with the plastiguage are out? Remove engine remove crank etc ? I didn't measure mine as x wouldn't have done that other thing.

Any reason you didn't get rifle drilled rods to lubricate the small ends?