Audi TT Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, been doing my brain on different specificatuions for my new TT...a world I am sure you have all visited at some point!!

Just to confuse my tiny brain still further, a local'ish stealer tells me that the TT MK2 has both DSG and Stronic gearbox options...this is news to me...any of you have any thoughts on this.

I actually thought the DSG was an old VW expression (or description of their gearbox) and that Audi just "Brand" theirs as "Stronic" to widen the old VW/Audi Gap.

That said, I am by no means an expert and am preparing myself for an onslaught of "welll der yeah" type of replies.

(takes cover)

·
Registered
4,770 Posts
DSG was the original "name", used by VW and Audi in marketing
Audi have now branded it as S-Tronic, when used on their cars - the technology is the same

TT Mk2 only has 6 speed manual and 6 speed S-Tronic options, so your dealer has given out misleading info there

·
Registered
571 Posts
As far as I`m aware, S-Tronic is Audi speak for DSG.

I don`t think you can order a new TT with DSG, it will be branded S-Tronic.

BTW, I had a DSG equipped A3, if you are thinking of one make sure you have a long test drive..........

·
Registered
2,482 Posts
Yep, one and the same John. No idea how your Dealer can get away with such muppetry :roll:

As Wolfie suggests, have you had a test drive of a car with S-Tronic... or failing that, one with DSG..? :wink:

G

·
Funny this thread has come up.

My dealer are selling two used TTC's.

Both 57 plates, both have approx 7K miles.

Both are 2.0T

But one says S-tronic, the other says DSG! [smiley=dizzy2.gif]

Automatic then! :lol:

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·