Audi TT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
right drivin home from wrk, low oil come on, drive another mile to mates,, go get oil

add litre to car, oils registered fine

start it, runs fine nothing irregular,, but rev it,,white/blue smoke??

no oil in water
no water in oil
oil healthy color
car boosting fine no wierd noises
no oil in the tip either

only thing i can add is tht the oil cap off when running, its bit smokey.condensation cant tell really im just panicing :/

·
Registered
774 Posts
I am no mechanic so this is a long shot but maybe the wrong grade of oil is in the engine - I have seen the sympotoms you state with crap oil in an A4 years ago.

I'm confident someone will come along with more knowledge than I have.

Peter

·
Administrator
2001 Amulet Red 225 coupe.Owned from new as well as a Nurburg VXR & an XR3, all from new.
95,360 Posts
Hi Boo, With the oil filling cap off, you will be causing week mixture, as extra air is being drawn into induction system, but not registered by MAF, so will cause probs. Are you sure you haven't overfilled oil ?
Hoggy. :D

·
Administrator
33,450 Posts
Sounds like you've had oil starvation and a loss of pressure to cause damage to likely the turbo bearings - but did the oil pressure light warming come on?

Alternatively you've been losing oil through worm turbo seals causing the low level light to come on and you to now notice the smoke - I'd guess :?

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
over filling could be possible, as i snappd my dipstik cased and used one of an agu temorary,, so not sure :( but just ran it fr while, water levels ok, ect

no oil pressure warning just the oil level (yellow)

just had the tip off turbine spins nice, play is normal tiny ammount ect

intercooler pipe is good, just the normal few drips from the breather system

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
boo:) said: