Audi TT Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,922 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for some advice on the best way to progress an insurance claim, it's been 3 months now and what I thought would be nice and simple has not only dragged on has suddenly got even more complicated.

I was driving my partners car, for which I'm a named driver, around Christmas. There was a hold up in the lane I was in, I stopped as did the guy behind, however some daydreamer didn't and ploughed into the car behind, in turn pushing him into the back of our car. We didn't sustain a lot of damage, broken brake light and a damaged bumper. We all exchanged details and the guy responsible apologised. Foolishly we went through our insurers, Aviva, who put us in touch with their solicitors, Irwin Mitchell, who were supposedly going to progress the claim. Aviva booked our car into a repairer who took their own good time fixing it. Added to that they screwed up the excess figure which meant we covered the entire cost of the repair, after double-checking our policy it turned out our excess was half what they'd come up with. After a lot of calls a month later we received a cheque for the difference.

My understanding is, and I'm hoping someone can confirm this, is that our claim is with the car that was pushed into us and then their insurer recoups both his and our costs from the party at fault. This is why I thought things would be easy, he is with Aviva, probably because he works for them, so you thought it would be sorted in-house quickly, apparently not.