Audi TT Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, Just a quick one about wax. I went round a friends house yesterday and he had his car covered in wax in the garage. When i asked why he was doing it inside his garage (very tight, no space) he replied he does it outside then leaves it in the garage as long as possible with the wax on, even upto a couple of weeks as the longer you leave it the better it is!

Now im not questioning him here but is it ok to leave wax on your car that long? If so will it make it any difference and in what way? Also wont the wax set hard and be difficult to get off? Like i say im not trying to prove him wrong or anything more just trying to learn as im kind of new to all this detailing, was more of a quick wash kinda guy but have started to get a decent collection of products and im trying to get a bit better at it all really!

BTW i use autoglym HD wax if that makes any difference to the answer!!

·
Registered
943 Posts
I don't know what happens to wax when it is left for that length of time. However, I would be more concerned about the dust and rubbish in the air settling on the paint/wax. It must increase the risk of putting more marks in the paintwork when trying to remove the wax.

·
Registered
1,978 Posts
Wax needs time to cure usually 10min or so if it's left on longer it just gets baked on and makes it harder to remove.
Most waxes should be put on the car in the shade if possible to stop it baking onto the car and drying out in the sunlight!
Think your mate is fooling himself it won't do any good leaving the wax on the car that long

I'm not a pro but that's my understanding of it

·
Registered
83,926 Posts
Gforce said:
Wax needs time to cure usually 10min or so if it's left on longer it just gets baked on and makes it harder to remove.
Most waxes should be put on the car in the shade if possible to stop it baking onto the car and drying out in the sunlight!